Rhys Yates is the 2015 MSA English Rally Champion

The final round of the 2015 MSA English Rally Championship, the JLT Tempest 2 Rally, took place on a very wet day in the forests around Aldershot on Saturday.

The event was set to be the Championship decided with both Rhys Yates (Fiesta R2) and Dave Bennett (Vauxhall Corsa) vying for the Drivers title.  However the contest was sadly decided at the start of the very first stage when David Bennett / Alistair McNeill had to retire with clutch failure. This left championship leader Rhys Yates, accompanied by Tom Woodburn, to finish the job in style by coming home 7th overall on the event.

Amongst other MSA English Championship crews to do well on the event were Dominic Hodge / Stefan Arndt (Nissan Micra) who won their class and took maximum points in Class E1 for standard production cars up to 1400cc.

So at the end of another competitive season it is Rhys Yates who is the MSA English Rally Champion Driver with Alistair McNeil taking the co-drivers title.
Rhys has also won the MSA English Junior Drivers title. (and 250 pounds presented by Mintex)

Congratulations to all the championship, class and category winners and thank you to ALL the competitors, event organisers and marshals for providing another exciting season of rallying. The full list of all the 2015 MSA English Rally Championship award winners can be viewed HERE

The 2015 MSA English Rally Championship and the REIS-RAVENOL BTRDA Rally Series awards will be presented at the Awards Evening and Dinner on Saturday 9th January at the Raddison Penns Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield. B76 1LH.

Photo of Rhys Yates / Tom Woodburn on the Woodpecker Stages courtesy of MCR Motorsport Media