Relaunch of the MAXXIS MSA English Rally Championship in 2017

In response to a recent competitor survey the BTRDA Rally Committee have expanded the 2017 MAXXIS MSA English Rally Championship to provide a greater variety of Nat B events and opened it up to all types of rally car that comply with the 2017 MSA Safety and Technical Regulations for Special Stage Rallies.

The 2017 Championship will include a selection of the best one day forest and asphalt events in England, with the addition of a unique double header weekend which gives competitors the choice to compete on either or both the Nicky Grist Stages (Saturday) and the new Nicky Grist Asphalt Stages (Sunday). The asphalt element of the calendar sees the three events grouped together in the middle of the year and includes the Dukeries Rally which takes place within the confines of Donington Park and provides an excellent opportunity for sponsors and spectators to see more of the action.

CALENDAR          (Best 6 scores to count)
Somerset Stages –  8th April – West Somerset – 80% Gravel
Carlisle Stages Rally – 10th June – Kielder Forest West – Gravel
Nicky Grist Stages 8th – July – Mid Wales Forests – Gravel
Nicky Grist Asphalt Stages – 9th July – Epynt Ranges – Asphalt
Tyneside Stages 6th – August – Otterburn Ranges – Asphalt
58th Dukeries Rally – 20th August – Donington Park – Asphalt
Woodpecker Stages – 2nd September – Shropshire – Gravel
Trackrod Forest Rally – 30th September – North Yorkshire – Gravel

Once again, MAXXIS Tyres take on the mantle of headline sponsor of the MSA English Rally Championship which is now open to all rally cars complying with the 2017 MSA Safety and Technical Regulations for Special Stage Rallies. The Championship will be split into 8 championship classes with the scoring system reflecting achievement against other competitors in the same class. Success in the Overall, Class & Junior categories will all be recognised at the annual Awards Presentation Dinner.
• Class 1 BTRDA Rally First cars up to and including 1400cc and FIA R1A and N1
• Class 2 All cars up to 1400cc not eligible for class 1 and RF1.6 cars
• Class 3 Over 1400cc and up to and including 1600cc, including all FIA R2B cars
• Class 4 Over 1600cc and up and including to 2000cc
• Class 5 Over 2000cc 2 Wheel Drive
• Class 6 Current and former FIA Group N / NR4 cars over 2000cc
• Class 7 Over 2000cc 4 Wheel Drive
• Class 8 All WRC, RRC, R5 and S2000 cars and all derivatives

Championship Regulations are now published here > Championship Regulations and on-line Championship Registrations are available via the BTRDA membership system at  BTRDA on-line Membership / Registration    NB: The Maxxis MSA English Rally Championship registration will also cover the 2017 RAVENOL BTRDA Rally Series and will include membership of BTRDA which is an invited club to all the events.

Photo is Dylan Davies in a Subaru Impreza. (courtesy of Ralliphotoswales)   Note that all types of rally cars are eligible to score points on the 2017 MAXXIS MSA English Rally Championship.