Maxxis UK to be the title sponsor of the MSA English Rally Championship

The BTRDA are delighted to confirm that tyre giant, Maxxis, are the new title sponsor of the MSA English Rally Championship, in a three-year deal commencing in 2016.
The Maxxis MSA English Rally Championship will continue to be exclusively for two-wheel drive rally cars up to 2,000cc and is an ideal rally championship for crews on a limited budget. With a class-based scoring system, competitors from any of the five performance classes are eligible to become English Rally Champions.

With the participation of a large number of rally competitors, the English Rally Championship represents the perfect platform for the tyre firm to become involved in the rally market and increase awareness of its range of high quality products on offer, including the acclaimed Victra R19 rally tyre.  Derek McMartin, MD of Maxxis UK explains: “Sponsoring one of the most popular rally championships in the UK demonstrates our confidence in our rally tyres and their ability to enhance the performance of competitors. Our Victra R19 can endure the toughest competition tests while providing optimum grip, break and resistance without suffering any major wear. We’re really excited to be expanding our sponsorship activity in the car market and entering into the rally segment for the first time. It’s safe to say we’re all looking forward to being a part of MSA English Rally Championship over the next three years.”
Maxxis rally tyres are available in the UK from Mr Tyre Motorsport –  For further information on Maxxis, please visit

New Sponsor and New Start:  The revision of the rally calendar this year sees the MAXXIS MSA English Rally Championship setting off a bit later than usual on the Malcolm Wilson Rally on Saturday March 12th.

The highest seeded of the 50+ Maxxis MSA English Championship crews are in Class 5 (up to 2000cc RWD) and include last year’s BTRDA Silver Star Champions Boyd Kershaw / Bryan Hull and the 2011 English Rally Champion Allan McDowall with Gavin Heseltine. The introduction of the new Fiesta ST Trophy means there will be a very competitive battle for Class E4 honours whilst in Class E2 for up to 1400cc cars it could be the experienced Dave Brick / Keaton Williams (Nova) who will be the ones to catch.  Last year’s English Rally Champion Rhys Yates has now moved onto the BRC stage but his Fiesta R2 will still be seen on championship events now driven by Robert Vardy.

Documentation and Scrutineering for the Malcolm Wilson Rally takes place at M-Sport’s premises in Dovenby Hall and then, come the day, eight special stages in some of the classic Lake District forests form the meat of the event. The first car leaves the start at 7.00am on Saturday 12th March and then, for those who prove themselves to be up to the challenge, the Hired Lad at Penrith Auctions will be ready to welcome them back from 3.00pm onwards.

Photo is Boyd Kershaw / Bryan Hull on the 2015 Cambrian Rally.  (Photo courtesy of ralliphotoswales)