Following its traditional summer break, the MAXXIS MSA English Rally Championship moves into the second half of its season with the Eventsigns Woodpecker Stages on Saturday 3rd September. All of the leading championship crews are entered in the event including the current leaders Cameron Davies / Lee Taylor (Fiesta ST) who have a 5 point advantage over Kit and Tim Leigh (Fiesta R200).  However, when you consider that it is the best 5 scores to count and the potential points that are available from the last 3 rounds, then there are at least 15 crews (possibly 20) still in with a chance of taking the title.   A full list of all the points scores can be found in the Competitors Section.    Championship Points

The current class leaders Emily & Eliot Retallick (Peugeot 205) in Class E1 and Freddy and Toby Brick (Nova) in Class E2 each have the advantage of having 3 scores but their main rivals Dominic Hodge / Stephan Arndt (Micra) and Jordan and Paul Hone (Satria) benefit from maximum scores which may tell at the end of the season. In classes E3 and E4 it is the aforementioned Kit Leigh and Cameron Davies who have the lead whilst in the up to 2000cc Class E5 it is a straight fight between Gavin Edwards and Boyd Kershaw, both in Mk2 Ford Escorts, who currently have equal points.

The Eventsigns Woodpecker Stages, which is based at Ludlow Racecourse, has attracted 50 MAXXIS MSA English Rally Championship crews. The first car starts at 8.31am on Saturday and returns for Service during the day before the crews begin returning to Ludlow Racecourse for the finish from 3.15pm.
PS: Both Dave Brick and his son Freddy Brick, both driving Novas, will want to make their local knowledge on the Woodpecker Rally pay; you can see their farm from Rally HQ !

Photo is Richard Wells /Calvin Houldsworth (Class RF1.6) Photo courtesy of Ralliphotoswales