Author Archives: Howard Wilcock

The 2022 Motorsport UK English Rally Championship

After the two year hiatus associated with the Covid-19 pandemic BTRDA Ltd are very pleased to confirm that they will organise and promote the Motorsport UK 2022 English Rally Championship in association with Seacon UK.

Following on from the issue of regulations for the 2022 MRF Tyres BTRDA Rally Series, (available at  those for the Motorsport UK 2022 English Rally Championship, in association with Seacon UK, are now available in the competitor section of this website. Championship Permit No 2022/008 has been issued by Motorsport UK.

It’s all part of the 2022 BTRDA Rally Series registration and BTRDA membership package and, thus, all BTRDA Rally Series contenders are automatically eligible for the English Rally Championship (and vice versa) with no extra fees required.

Maintaining the format of previous years, the English Rally Championship is class-based, such that the eventual winner may emerge from any one of the seven competition classes (see below) and as outlined in the regulations. In this way, it isn’t necessarily the most powerful car that will triumph – a fact amply illustrated by Steve Black who claimed the 2019 title in his 1400cc Suzuki Swift!

English Rally Champions in previous years include: – 2018 Ian Joel (Escort Cosworth), 2017 Stephen Petch (Fiesta WRC) 2016 Sam Bilham (Fiesta R2), 2015 Rhys Yates (Fiesta R2), 2014 Matthew Robinson (Escort Mk2), 2013 Julian Wilkes (1400cc Vauxhall Nova).

Covid restrictions permitting, a six-round calendar of selected popular forest stage rallies is planned from which competitors will count their five best scores.

The Events:

  • Malcolm Wilson Rally  12th March   Cockermouth / Lake District
  • Kielder Forest Rally    18th June    Hexham / Kielder Forest
  • Woodpecker Stages    3rd September    Ludlow / Shropshire
  • Trackrod Forest Rally    24th September    Filey / North Yorkshire
  • Wyedean Stages Rally    15th October    Mitcheldean / Forest of Dean
  • Grizedale Stages Rally    2nd / 3rd December    Ambleside / Lake District

The Championship is open to all vehicles that comply with the 2022 Motorsport UK Safety and Technical Regulations for Special Stage Rallies.

The Competition Classes: 

  • Class E7     Current and former World Rally cars with a sequential gearbox, current and former R5 specification cars, FIA Rally2 and S2000 cars and any derivatives therefrom
  • Class E6     Over 2000cc 4WD cars not eligible for class E7
  • Class E5     Over 2000cc 2WD cars including all FIA R3T cars
  • Class E4     Cars over 1600cc up to 2000cc, plus Historic category 3 cars with multi cam engines over 1600cc, category 4a cars over 1600cc and 4b cars up to 1600cc and FIA Rally4 specification cars.
  • Class E3     Cars over 1400cc up to 1600cc plus current & former FIA Group N3 cars and FIA R2 cars.
  • Class E2     Cars up to 1400cc not eligible for Class E1, plus Historic category 1 & 2, category 3 with single cam engines and category 4a up to 1600cc
  • Class E1     All BTRDA Rally First cars.


BTRDA Rally Series registration and BTRDA membership are free to new members under 25 years of age on the 1st January 2022, for their first year of registration.

Covid restrictions dictate that on some events the traditional pre-event Signing-On sessions will not take place and, hence, the opportunity to actually register for the BTRDA Series on events may be severely compromised. Nevertheless, we want you to join in some ‘Serious Fun’ and, hence, we would ask all prospective contenders to use the online registration system prior to their first appearance of the season.  Alternatively, there is a Membership / Registration form which can be downloaded.

Motorsport UK 2021 English Rally Championship – Cancellation

It is with great regret that the BTRDA Rally Committee have taken the decision to cancel the Motorsport UK 2021 English Rally Championship following the unfortunate postponement of the Grizedale Stages at the beginning of December.  The 2021 English Rally Championship was intended to be a 6 round championship but the Kielder Forest Rally cancelled early on due to COVID and the Wyedean Stages Rally cancelled due to land access issues. Three rounds ran successfully; the Nicky Grist Stages, Woodpecker Stages and the Trackrod Forest Rally, leaving the Grizedale Stages as the final round. Having considered the Championship Regulations and the requirements of the Motorsport UK Yearbook we felt we had no option but to cancel the championship

We will still recognise the outstanding efforts of our competitors with a number of overall and class awards and will present awards to the leading Drivers and Co-drivers in the Motorsport UK 2021 English Rally Championship, in association with Seacon UK, at the point when the Championship was cancelled.
Leading Overall Driver: George Lepley
Leading Overall Co-driver: Tom Woodburn
Overall winners are not eligible for class awards

Leading Driver in Class 7: Ian Bainbridge Leading Co-driver in Class 7: Will Atkins
Leading Driver in Class 6: Richard Hill Leading Co-driver in Class 6: Graeme Wood
Leading Driver in Class 5: Owen McMackin Leading Co-driver in Class 5: Sam Fordham
Leading Driver in Class 4: Barry Jordan Leading Co-driver in Class 4: Ian Jones
Leading Driver in Class 3: Ioan Lloyd Leading Co-driver in Class 3: Sion Williams
Leading Driver in Class 2: Richard Freestone Leading Co-driver in Class 2: Abi Haycock
Leading Driver in Class 1: Tom Naylor
To qualify for an award a competitor must have started 3 qualifying events

Further to this the MRF Tyres Mixed Surface Challenge will now conclude following the Rallynuts Stages and points will go final at 19:00 on Sunday 26 December 2021.

All of these awards will be presented at the 2021 BTRDA Rally Series Awards Presentation & Dinner on Saturday 12th February 2022 a the Casa Hotel, Lockoford Lane, Chesterfield. S41 7JB.


We are now able to confirm the calendar for the Motorsport UK 2022 English Rally Championship in association with Seacon UK.

  • Malcolm Wilson Rally  12th March
  • Kielder Forest Rally  18th June 
  • Woodpecker Stages  3rd September
  • Trackrod Forest Stages  24th September
  • Wyedean Forest Rally  15th October
  • Grizedale Stages   2nd/3rd December 

More details of the classes etc will be confirmed in an announcement soon as possible.

May I take this opportunity to wish you and your families a Merry Christmas and a safe peaceful New Year and I look forward to seeing you at our Awards Evening, COVID permitting, or out on the stages in 2022 for more serious fun.

Regards   Neil Cross

Chair of the BTRDA Rallies Committee.